top of page

National Science Day

National Science Day

28th February is celebrated as National Science Day (NSD) in India. NSD is celebrated to commemorate discovery of the ‘Raman Effect’, which led to Sir C.V. Raman winning the Noble Prize.

When was the day declared as National Science Day?

In 1986, the National Council for Science and Technology Communication (NCSTC) asked the Government of India to designate 28 February as National Science Day which the then Govt. of India accepted and declared the day as National Science Day in 1986. The first National Science Day was celebrated on February 28, 1987.

What is Raman Effect?

Raman Effect is a phenomenon in spectroscopy discovered by the eminent physicist Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman in 1928. After two years in 1930, he got Nobel Prize for this remarkable discovery and this was the first Nobel Prize for India in the field of Science. while working in the laboratory of the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata.

Raman Effect is a change in the wavelength of light that occurs when a light beam is deflected by molecules. When a beam of light traverses a dust-free, transparent sample of a chemical compound, a small fraction of the light emerges in directions other than that of the incident (incoming) beam. Most of this scattered light is of unchanged wavelength. A small part, however, has wavelengths different from that of the incident light; its presence is a result of the Raman Effect.

NSD 2023

The theme of NSD-2023 is "Global Science for Global Wellbeing". The Global Science for Global Wellbeing theme has been chosen for the purpose of raising public appreciation of the scientific issues in global context which is having a bearing upon global wellbeing.

The four fold approach of integration would consist of

integration of all the scientific departments which can work on theme based approach;

extended scientific integration encompassing engineering, medical and other institutions;

extra scientific integration involving identification of the needs of other ministries like jal shakti, railways etc; and

extended science driven all inclusive approach integrating startups & industry.

National Council for Science & Technology Communication (NCSTC) of Department of Science & Technology (DST) is nodal agency to support catalyze and coordinate celebration of the NSD throughout the country, particularly in scientific institutions & research laboratories.

NCSTC has supported various programmes countrywide by supporting its State S&T Councils & Departments for organization of lectures, quizzes, open houses, etc.

National Awards

DST instituted National Awards in 1987 to stimulate, encourage and recognize outstanding efforts in the area of science popularization and communication and in promoting scientific temper.

The National S&T Communication Awards, Augmenting Writing Skills for Articulating Research (AWSAR) awards, and SERB Women Excellence Awards and Rajendra Prabhu Memorial Appreciation Shield for outstanding work in science media and journalism are also being conferred on NSD.

National Award for Outstanding Efforts in S&T Communication is being conferred on Karnataka Science and Technology Academy, Bengaluru. Award consists of Rs. 5,00,000/- (Rupees Five lakh), a memento and a citation.

National Award for Outstanding Efforts in S&T Communication through Print Media including Books and Magazines is being conferred on 1. Prof. Mayadhar Swain, Bhubaneswar; 2. Dr. Biju Dharmapalan, Thiruvananthapuram. Award consists of Rs.2,00,000/- (Rupees Two lakh), a memento and a citation.

National Award for Outstanding Efforts in S&T Popularization among Children has been conferred on 1. Dr. Krishnarao Appasani, Hyderabad. 2. Dr. Uday Kumar Kakroo, New Delhi. Award consists of Rs.2,00,000/- (Rupees Two lakh), a memento and a citation.

National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Translation of Popular Science & Technology Literature in languages mentioned in the eighth schedule of

the Constitution of India and in English - Shri Tarun Kumar Jain, Jaipur

National Award for Outstanding Efforts in S&T through Innovative and Traditional methods is being conferred on Shri Anjan Banik, Agartala. Award consists of Rs.2,00,000/- (Rupees Two lakh), a memento and a citation.

National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication in the Electronic Medium has been conferred on Shri Rakesh Andania, New Delh

Augmenting writing skills for articulating research (AWSAR) Award is conferred on

Outstanding Story (PDF category) - Dr Amritesh Kumar, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras

AWSAR Award: First Prize (Ph.D. category) - Ms. Neha Parashar, Indian Institute of Technology, Patna

AWSAR Award: Second prize (Ph.D. category) - 1. Ms. Anis Fatema, International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad 2. Mr. Ankush Wankhade, Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Rahuri

AWSAR Award: Third prize (Ph.D. category) - 1. Ms. Monica Pandey, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad. 2. Ms. Rohini B, Central Food Technological Research Institute, Mysore

Science and Engineering Res

earch Board (SERB) Women Excellence Award

10 views0 comments


bottom of page